## Benton County Solid Waste Disposal Commission

February 16, 2023 Meeting Minutes

The Regular meeting of the Benton County Solid Waste Disposal Commission was held Thursday February 16, 2023 at the Van Horne Community Center. Present was Brian McNulty, Blairstown, Eric Werner, Landfill Manager, Tracy Seeman, County, Jennifer Zahradnik, County, Jon Kaestner, County, Doug Kearns, Garrison, Jared Vogeler, Van Horne, and Loras Schulte, Norway. Attending the meeting by Zoom were Amy Boddicker, County, Doug Luzbetak, HLW, Nancy Jensen, County, Bruce Cross, Newhall, Alicia Presto, ECICOG, Nancy Thorkildson, Shellsburg and Erika Hodgson, County.

The meeting was called to order by Loras Schulte at 6:32 PM.

A public hearing was opened at 6:33 PM.

Discussion was held on the plans and specifications for the Phase III Cell H Project.

At 6:37, motion made by Vogeler, seconded by Kearns to close the public hearing. All Ayes.

Motion made by Kearns, seconded by Vogeler to keep all officers as is. All Ayes.

Motion made by Kaestner, seconded by Jensen to approve the January 19, 2023 minutes. All Ayes.

The Treasurer's Report was given. Motion made by Seeman, seconded by Kaestner to accept the Treasurer's Report. All Ayes.

The Landfill Manager's Report included upcoming trainings, litter fences, Insurance safety audit issues taken care of, audit proposal information and Iowa River cleanup project. Motion made by Kearns, seconded by Zahradnik to accept the Landfill Manager's Report. All Ayes.

Motion made by Zahradnik, seconded by Seeman to waive the fee for the Iowa River cleanup project. All Ayes.

The ECICOG report included summer reading program information and finalizing comp plan. Motion made by Vogeler, seconded by Jensen to approve the ECICOG report. All Ayes.

Motion made by Seeman, seconded by Kaestner to approve Resolution 2023-02-01: Approval of Expenditures. All Ayes.

Motion made by Kaestner, seconded by Kearns to approve Resolution 2023-02-02: Approval of Transfer of Funds between Savings/Checking. All Ayes.

Motion made by Vogeler, seconded by Seeman to approve Resolution 2023-02-03: Approval of Transfer of Funds to Capital Accounts. All Ayes.

Motion made by Kaestner, seconded by Vogeler to approve Resolution 2023-02-04: Named Depositories for the Commission. All Ayes.

Motion made by Kearns, seconded by Kaestner to approve the Financial Assurance for the DNR. 11 Members voting Aye, 1 Member voting Nay, motion carried.

Motion made by Seeman, seconded by Vogeler to approve the Annual Water Quality Report. 11 Members voting Aye, 1 Member voting Nay, motion carried.

Motion made by Boddicker, seconded by Vogeler to approve Resolution 2023-02-05: Approving Plans and Specifications for Phase III Cell H. 11 Members voting Aye, 1 Member voting nay, motion carried.

Motion made by Kearns, seconded by Seeman to approve Resolution 2023-02-06: Accepting Bid and Authorizing Award of Contract for Phase III Cell H Expansion. 11 Members voting Aye, 1 Member voting Nay, motion carried.

Motion made by Zahradnik, seconded by Boddicker to go into closed session pursuant to Iowa Code Section 25.1(7)(c). Ayes: Jensen, Seeman, Cross, Boddicker, Zahradnik, Kaestner, Hodgson, Kearns, Vogeler, Thorkildson, McNulty and Schulte. Nays: none.

7:13 pm

7:23 pm

Motion made by Zahradnik, seconded by Seeman to advise the Landfill Manager to notify the landowner that we are not interested on the property at this time for that price. All Ayes.

Motion to adjourn made by Seeman, seconded by Kearns. All Ayes. Meeting adjourned at 7:24 PM.

Chairperson